You are here:  Home  >  Things You Should Know  >  Current Article

KWANZAA Has Seven Core Principles, or Nguzo Saba

By   /  Wed 19 Rabi Al Thani 1440AH 26-12-2018AD  /  No Comments

    Print       Email

Kwanzaa is celebrated on December 26 through January 1, using the principles below in the corresponding seven days with the seven principles

1. Umoja: Unity

To strive for and maintain unity in the family, community, nation, and race.

2. Kujichagulia: Self-Determination:

To define ourselves, name ourselves, create for ourselves, and speak for ourselves.

3. Ujima: Collective Work and Responsibility

To build and maintain our community together and make our brothers’ and sisters’ problems our problems and solve them together.

4. Ujamaa: Cooperative Economics

To build and maintain our own stores, shops, and other businesses and to profit from them together.

5. Nia: Purpose

To make our collective vocation the building and developing of our community in order to restore our people to their traditional greatness.

6. Kuumba: Creativity

To do always as much as we can, in the way we can, in order to leave our community more beautiful and beneficial than we inherited it.

7. Imani: Faith

To believe with all our heart in our people, our parents, our teachers, our leaders, and the righteousness and victory of our struggle.

    Print       Email
  • Published: 1 year ago on Wed 19 Rabi Al Thani 1440AH 26-12-2018AD
  • By:
  • Last Modified: December 26, 2018 @ 11:11 am
  • Filed Under: Things You Should Know

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like...

Knights of the Golden Circle

Read More →